Sunday, August 17, 2008

Book Review - Dies the Fire by S. M. Stirling

Dies the Fire (Roc Science Fiction) by S.M. Stirling
Alternate History at its best...

S. M. Stirling delivers an engrossing story of post-apocalyptic America, New Age witches and desperate cannibals. “Dies the Fire” recounts the back-to-the-earth hand-to-mouth conflict of civilization to survive "The Change," a global incident that alters the physical laws of the world to make all modern technology worthless.

The novel follows the civilization building actions of Mike Havel, a former Marine pilot, and Juniper Mackenzie, a New Age Wiccan priestess and Celtic songwriter as they build separate but cooperative communities in the American Northwest.

4 and ½ of 5 stars

Other Books of the Change

Island in the Sea of Time
1. Island in the Sea of Time (1997)
2. Against the Tide of Years (1998)
3. On the Oceans of Eternity (2000)

Dies the Fire
1. Dies the Fire (2004)
2. The Protector's War (2005)
3. A Meeting at Corvallis (2006)

1. The Sunrise Lands (2007)
2. The Scourge of God (2008)

The Alternative One
Southeastern Wisconsin
April 6, 2008

No comments: