Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Book Review – L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume XXVII

Writers of the Future Volume XXVII
K. D. Wentworth (Editor)
Mass Market Paperback
560 pages
Publisher: Galaxy Press
Publication Date: June 20, 2011
ISBN-13: 978-1592128709


The best of the best in new speculative fiction can usually be found in L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future and the 27th Volume of this unique format does not disappoint. Past Judges of the contest include some of the best Science Fiction writers in the world: Greg Benford (Eon), Orson Scott Card (Ender), Eric Flint (1632), Frank Herbert (Dune) , Anne McCaffrey (Pern), Larry Niven (Ringworld), Andre Norton (Witchworld), Frederik Pohl (Heechee), and Robert Siverberg (Majipoor), to name just a few. Rather than give each of the short stories in this volume a separate score I’ve elected to rate the anthology as a whole. As a concept I love the idea of giving new author’s of short fiction a creative outlet that becomes available to the masses. And, to be chosen by the esteemed judges listed above, among others, we, as readers, are rewarded with some of the best new fiction being written today. Recommended for fans of short form Science Fiction and Fantasy and for those who are addicted to Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine, Analog Science Fiction and Fact, or the Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction.

Volume 27 Table of Content (including links):

Ø Introduction by K. D. Wentworth

Ø The Unreachable Voices of Ghosts by Jeffrey Lyman • Illustrated by Nico Photos

Ø Maddy Dune's First and Only Spelling Bee by Patrick O'Sullivan • Illustrated by Meghan Muriel

Ø The Truth, From a Lie of Convenience by Brennan Harvey • Illustrated by Irvin Rodriguez

Ø How to View Art by L. Ron Hubbard

Ø In Apprehension, How Like a God by R. P. L. Johnson • Illustrated by Dustin D. Panzino

Ø An Acolyte of Black Spires by Ryan Harvey • Illustrated by Fred Jordan

Ø The Dualist by Van Aaron Hughes • Illustrated by Frederick Edwards

Ø Making It by Mike Resnick

Ø Bonehouse by Keffy R. M. Kehrli • Illustrated by Vivian Friedel

Ø This Peaceful State of War by Patty Jansen • Illustrated by Scott Frederick Hargrave

Ø Sailing the Sky Sea by Geir Lanesskog • Illustrated by Joey Jordan

Ø Creating Your Own Destiny by Robert Castillo

Ø Unfamiliar Territory by Ben Mann • Illustrated by Erik Jean Solem

Ø Medic! by Adam Perin • Illustrated by Gregory J. Gunther

Ø Vector Victoria by D. A. D'Amico • Illustrated by Ryan Downing

Ø The Sundial by John Arkwright • Illustrated by Irvin Rodriguez

Ø The Year In Contests

Anthology Content: 4 out of 5 stars
Writers of the Future Concept: 5 out of 5 stars

The Alternative
Southeast Wisconsin

Additional Reading:

Writers of the Future Sites

Writers of the Future I – XXVII

Writers of the Future Contest History

Judges Author Sites

Greg Benford

Orson Scott Card

Eric Flint

Frank Herbert

Anne McCaffrey

Larry Niven

Andre Norton

Frederik Pohl

Robert Siverberg


No comments: